Nine-time Chinese champion Liaoning Huvin ceased to exist

According to Nemzeti Sport, on Saturday, May 23, the Chinese Football Federation (CFA) decided to deprive Liaoning of professional status due to wage arrears, banning the club from performing all divisions of the country. Recall that Liaoning, founded in 1953, was the nine-time champion of China (1954, 1978, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990-1993), as well as the owner of the Cup (1986) and the country's Super Cup (2000). In addition, Liaoning became the first Chinese club to win the Asian Champions League (1989/1990). According to the publication, the Chinese Football Federation because of debts refused to issue licenses for another season to ten clubs, and the other five teams and Liaoning, were denied professional status. The latter group includes Tianjin Tianhai, declared bankrupt on May 20.

Source link