Bilbao and San Sebastián, venues of the «final to 8» of the Women's Champions



New step for the Women's Champions League to be interrupted by the Covid pandemic- 19. It will be the Spanish Federation that organizes the "Final 8" designed by UEFA to choose the new champion. The cities chosen for the event to be held are Bilbao and San Sebastián . The competition will be resolved in seven games (the four quarterfinals, the two semifinals and the final, which has not yet been chosen ) between August 21 and 30. The quarterfinals are: Barça-Atlético Olympique Lyonnais (current champion) -Bayern Munich, Glasgow-Wolfsburg and Arsenal-PSG. Initially, this "final eight" should have been played in Vienna.

The great incentive of the competition will be in the duel of marked Spanish flavor between Barcelona and Atlético de Madrid, in which The azulgranas are clear favorites after a season in which they have swept the league competition. Precisely, Atlético de Madrid protested the decision of the Spanish Federation to terminate the Iberdrola League by naming the provisional leader, Barcelona, ​​champion of the tournament. It will be a acid test for the Madrid women who hope to take a step forward in Europe at a time when Barcelona is looking to consolidate itself after having played the final last season. However, Lyon is the clear favorite to reissue the title. The French and German teams are one notch above the Spanish.

The decision of UEFA to give the Spanish Federation the organization of the final of the women's Champions League, which is still not fully official, it means that the masculine one, in case of resignation of Istanbul will not be organized in any Spanish headquarters. Lisbon and Munich are still awaiting the decision of the Turkish leaders.

Source link