20 years of the 'SuperDépor' League



RC Deportivo de la Coruña is celebrating his birthday. On May 19, 2000, the first and only League title was celebrated throughout the Galician city up to the date of the 'SuperDépor', and Riazor thus took revenge for the drama that occurred six years earlier.

The Blue and Whites' fans had the same trophy in their hands in 1994, but a penalty missed by Djukic against Valencia frustrated the dream; Cruyff's Barça would close its triumphal cycle. The technician Arsenio Iglesias directed an exciting project with millionaire signings. But 'O Bruxo d'Arteixo' would leave the Coruña bench without knowing that success.

It had to be from the hand of Jabo Irureta when Dépor took revenge against fate, and coincidentally with the same rival for the League title. The rival of that last day would be different, as well as the result.

The scene did not change, Riazor, but what was a drama six years before turned into a party as soon as it began when Donato headed the net for a corner kick by Víctor Sánchez del I love . The Dutchman's 2-0 Makaay put the finishing touch.

They were some of the new faces with respect to the 1994 'SuperDépor'. Bebeto was not there, but the Brazilian magic put it Djalminha . His compatriot Mauro Silva did survive the previous era, as did the captain, Fran González .

As a summary of the season, suffice it to say that between the first and sixth there were only eight separation points: 69 points for Deportivo and 61 for Alavés. Madrid was fifth but saved their season with the Champions five days later. Valencia and Zaragoza were fourth and fifth, respectively. Betis, Sevilla and Atlético descended.

The 'pichichi' was for Salva Ballesta (Racing de Santander) and the 'Zamora' was the Argentine Martín Herrera (Alavés). Data like this would be unthinkable today. It was another football


Source link